Elizabeth’s thoughts

Elizabeth's thoughts

Getting ready today I was especially excited because it was time to work with the children at Las Trincheras! They enjoyed all the crafts we prepared for them and I enjoyed seeing all their little smiling faces. I was able to work on my Spanish while sharing in a great experience.

After the school we moved on to watching the installation of the solar bottle project. We visited 2 families whose homes were made of thick branches and blankets. The animals they raised shared the living environment in which they lived and dirt completed the floor layout. I was in awe as I took this all in. It saddened me, but I felt our presence there today gave them something that would make life so much easier and after all, that is what we came here to do. To help the people of El Salvador!

One thing I have taken away from today is the realization that all the people here are happy people. They are content with their lives although they have no reason to be. I truly admire the heart and culture of the Salvadoran community.

Leave a Reply

